Wisconsin Department of Commerce Newsletter
February 2005
2005 State Shelter Subsidy Grant Program Grants Awarded

The State Shelter Subsidy Grant Program (SSSG) was initiated by the legislature in 1985. In August 2003, responsibility for administration of the program was transferred to the Department of Commerce Division of Community Development, Bureau of Housing.

In September 2004, applications for SSSG funds were made available for generic emergency shelter programs. The SSSG allocation for 2005 is $1,131,000. The Bureau of Housing (BOH) supplements the SSSG allocation with revenues from the Interest Bearing Real Estate Trust Account (IBRETA). Historically, the IBRETA supplement has averaged $369,000 annually. However, the IBRETA revenues in 2004 were substantially less than in previous years. Therefore, the BOH will utilize $193,777 in IBRETA funds to supplement the 2005 SSSG allocation thus raising the total funds to be awarded to $1,324,777. The total request for funding was $2,398,643.

The grant is designed to provide up to 50% of the operating budget of a generic homeless shelter facility or homeless voucher program for the 2005 contract period. The purpose of the State Shelter Subsidy Grant Program is to provide supplemental funding to homeless shelter programs that have need for additional funding because of one of the following:

  1. The renovation or expansion of an existing shelter facility
  2. The development of an existing building into a shelter facility
  3. The expansion (or development) of shelter services
  4. The inability of a shelter program to obtain adequate funding to continue an existing level of shelter services.

The program is open to government, private nonprofit or some for-profit agencies.

Grants are made on a formula based on the number of shelter nights provided by the respective areas; Milwaukee receives 27.7 percent (27.7%) of the funds available or $366,607; Madison receives 19.3 percent (19.3%) or $255,440; and Balance of State grantees receive 53 percent (53%) or $702,730. The distribution of the funds for the Balance of State agencies is determined by totaling the projected number of shelter nights for 2005, adjusting the figures based on past year's reporting and calculating each agency's percentage of the total. That percentage is then applied to the Balance of State amount to determine each grantee's award. Agencies that provide less than .30 percent (.30%) of the total received a flat $2,550 award.

Health Care for the Homeless (HCH)
HCH coordinates the administration of the State Shelter Subsidy funds for six shelter programs in Milwaukee County.
American Red Cross
Community Advocates
Social Development Commission
Salvation Army
Guest House
Hope House of Milwaukee
Salvation Army - Madison
The Salvation Army administers the grant to Dane County. Six agencies coordinate homeless services.
  Madison Interfaith Hospitality Network
  Middleton Outreach Ministry
  Porchlight, Inc.
  Port St. Vincent
  Salvation Army
Fond du Lac - for Green Lake County
$ 2,550
Bethany House of Hospitality
Fond du Lac - Fond du Lac County
Central Wisconsin Community Action Council
Lake Delton - Adams, Columbia, Dodge, Juneau and Sauk County
$ 3,500
Community Action, Inc. of Rock/Walworth Counties
Janesville, Beloit and Delavan - Rock and Walworth Counties
Community Action Coalition for South Central Wisconsin
Jefferson County
Dunn County Interfaith Volunteers, Inc
House of Hope, Menomonie - Dunn County
Eau Claire Interfaith
Eau Claire County
Emergency Shelter of the Fox Valley
Appleton - Outagamie County
Families First
Tomah - Monroe County
Forward Service Corporation
Rhinelander - Oneida County
Harbor House Crisis Center
Superior - Douglas County
Hebron House
Waukesha - Waukesha County
Kenosha County Interfaith and Human Concerns Network
Kenosha County
Menominee Tribe
Keshena, Menominee County
New Beginnings
Beaver Dam, Dodge County
Oconto - Oconto and Marinette Counties
New Community Shelter
Green Bay - Brown County
New Freedom Ministries
Green Bay - Brown County
Northwest WI Community Services Agency
Superior - Douglas County
Polk County Housing Collaborative
Balsam Lake - Polk County
Red Cliff Chippewa
Red Cliff - Bayfield County
St. Vincent de Paul
Brown County
Salvation Army - La Crosse
La Crosse County
Salvation Army - Fox Cities
Appleton - Outagamie County
Salvation Army - Grace Place
Somerset - St. Croix County
Salvation Army - Sheboygan
Sheboygan County
Salvation Army - Siren
Burnett County
Salvation Army - Stevens Point
Portage County
Salvation Army - Waukesha
Waukesha County
Salvation Army - Wausau
Marathon County
Starting Points, Inc.
Chippewa Falls - Chippewa County
Stockbridge Munsee Community
Bowler - Shawano County
United Migrant Opportunity Services (UMOS), Inc.
57 county voucher program
Washington County Red Cross
Hartford - Washington County
Western Dairyland EOC
Independence - Buffalo, Trempealeau, and Jackson County

--Judy Wilcox

The newsletter is issued electronically every other month.

Please send comments or questions to Barbro McGinn, editor.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Current Newsletter

Newsletter Archive

Commerce Home

Wisconsin Department of Commerce